Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Drew Brees Wins Offensive Player of Year

The New Orleans Saints have never had a player win the NFL Offensive Player of the Year award until now. Drew Brees passed his way to #2 on the season yardage list, just missing out on Dan Marino's record from 1984. Marino's record took his Dolphins to the AFC title and a Super Bowl appearance. Brees' efforts weren't enough to get the Saints into the playoffs, but he deserves a lot of credit nonetheless. He has helped keep the energy in New Orleans post Hurricane Katrina. Hopefully next year all those yards will give them a post-season berth.

No comments: